Kudzu Jelly

By popular demand, I’m copying and pasting this post from another site where I posted it late last week.  🙂  Enjoy ….

My aunt made some a couple of weeks ago and I LOVE it. It has sort of a grapey flavor, but also reminds me of a muscadine flavor. Anyhow, she sent some blooms over and I made some earlier in the week. My brother wanted some too so I made an expedition out into the woods to get more blooms today – here’s our adventure. 🙂

 

First step in making Kudzu Jelly is to get yourself a trusty Steed. John the Mule suits this purpose perfectly. If you can’t find a good Steed, you’ll just have to walk yourself into the woods.

I Almost forgot, you also need a good trail dog. Chester is my best boy on the trail. He runs all the snakes and monsters off for me and John. Here he’s telling us to COME ON!

John the Mule was thoroughly convinced that because the water was so high – there MUST  be alligators lurking at the edge waiting for an unwary Mule to step too close…

 

Here’s the Kudzu! This spot didn’t have any blooms, we’re almost too late for this, but I know another place.

So we go on up the trail a way and there’s a huge field of Kudzu. It stretches far beyond those trees in the background. We hit paydirt here!

 

On the way back home, can’t resist snapping some more pics. It’s so pretty and it’s been quite a while since I’ve riddenI’m starting to wonder what the heck I’ve been thinking – why haven’t I been riding??  Oh yeah – forgot about the almost NON STOP RAIN we’ve had for going on 3 weeks now…..

 

Back at home – Look what I found in the blooms

Another interesting bug in the blooms! Gotta wash-wash-wash those blooms.

Ok, so here we go – here are the ingredients –

4 cups Kudzu blooms

4 1/2 cups water

1 pkg Sure Jel

1 Tablespoon Lemon Juice

5 cups (yes that’s correct!) Sugar

Clean blooms.  Pour water over blooms in medium pot.  Cover and boil 10-12 minutes or until the blooms change color.  (I went the full 12 min although the blooms had long since changed to ugly).

Strain juice and put into medium pot.

Add Lemon Juice and Sure Jel – watch the magic happen – juice turns a very pretty color when you add the lemon.

 

Bring to a full rolling boil.  Add Sugar, stirring constantly until it returns to a boil.

Boil for 1 minute.  Pour into jars and seal.  

Recipe should yeild 4 to 6 half pints.  Gather blooms in late August – into September.

So now, some of you may be wondering  just what the heck Kudzu might be.

Following pics are not mine – from Wikipedia

Kudzu was introduced from Japan into the United States in 1876 at the Philadelphia Centennial Exposition, where it was promoted as a forage crop and an ornamental plant. From 1935 to the early 1950s, the Soil Conservation Service encouraged farmers in the Southeastern United States to plant kudzu to reduce soil erosion as above. The Civilian Conservation Corps planted it widely for many years.

So another thing we can thank our Government for!! Whoopee!!  LOL  Actually it is truly out of control in some areas – just punch it into google and check out the pictures where it is slowly taking over ANYthing in it’s path.  It is virtually indestructible.

2 Comments

  1. maryksmith

    Tricia,

    I just wanted to say that I’ve stopped in and read your blog & I LOVE it!!!

  2. The blooms are very pretty. That second “bug” is so crazy looking. I wonder what it is.

Leave a Reply

