John the Mule

 

I suppose he was offended that I told Dusty and Sonny’s story first – seeing as he is the reason that I still have equines on my property.   John came to live with me shortly after Dusty and I had our wreck.  He was on loan to me from my farrier as our entire riding group was afraid that I would give up on my equine pursuits.  They were right because I had NO intention of climbing back on the back of a horse or even a mule.  John was my introduction to mules in general, I had been around mules before on rides and such, but had never been aboard one or had any experience handling a mule.   To be quite honest, before John you would have NEVER found a mule in my own pasture.  I wasn’t prejudiced or anything, but they aren’t a horse – ya know?  But John is probably the perfect specimen of a sane and safe citizen of the 4 legged kind.   My first time aboard John, I was absolutely terrified, but it soon became apparent that John was a no nonsense kind of guy and wasn’t going to do ANY thing to hurt himself and/or me.  Our relationship blossomed quickly and in a short time, I was a happy and confident rider again – on John that is.   I can’t possibly put a value on what he gave to me over those months, without him I don’t believe I would have ever ridden again.   I owe him SO much.  After having him for a while, I began to tell my farrier that I wanted to keep him and eventually bought John so now we can be buddies forever.  🙂  John is the mount that I trust to carry anyone – even the most precious cargo is safe on him.   

Several times I have been asked to sell John – 1 man even told me to name my price and he’d meet it (NO thank you!).  But as long as I can provide a home for John – he will be with me even if my husband has to eat mac and cheese or ramen noodles for the rest of our lives!  LOL

He has a fanclub on facebook : http://www.facebook.com/home.php#/group.php?gid=91402662481&ref=ts

Carrying my 7 year old niece on her first trail ride…

Christmas parade 2008

With Sarah K. Andrew of www.rockandracehorses.com   and http://rockandracehorses.wordpress.com/

 

 

His normal dirty self – WHY doesn’t he want to be white???

 

3 Comments

  1. As one of his fan club members– John the Mule- ROCKS!!!

  2. I don’t know If I said it already but …I’m so glad I found this site…Keep up the good work I read a lot of blogs on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say GREAT blog. Thanks, 🙂

    A definite great read..Jim Bean

    • Why thank you for the compliment, that was a very kind thing to say. 🙂

Leave a Reply

