A horse’s ‘Body Condition Score’

I am in no way an expert at this, but I thought I would share it with my friends who aren’t so well acquainted with how a horse in good health should look.

This chart shows the body condition score system that is widely used in the horse industry.

This second graphic shows the most common areas that you see the changes in a horse’s weight. Like people, they seem to have certain spots in the species where the pounds pack on easier. These are the points that we focus on when looking for weight gain or loss.

January 2, 2011 – Buck arrives at my farm.
He had absolutely no fat on his body at all. When patting him on the barrel, he sounded hollow. I would rate him at a 1 according to the scale. If I had shaved all that thick heavy coat off, you would have been better able to see just how desperately thin this horse was.

On the other end of the spectrum, I would rate Dusty the sofa pony at around a 6 maybe a HIGH 6 after a month on lush grass and no exercise

Leave a Reply

