In February

I’m getting some chickens for the farm. After looking at all the different breeds out there, I’ve settled on the laced Wyandottes. Golden Laced Wyandottes, and Blue Laced Red Wyandottes, I wanted some of the Silver laced also, but the hatcheries aren’t even considering selling them yet. Evidently the entire Wyandotte breed as a whole was on the endangered list not so long ago and the stock is just now being replenished. Hopefully they will put some silver laced up  in the summer for sale and I can round out my flock.  (I like multi colored – just look at the cow and goat herds!)  I can’t wait until the chicks get here. I’ll raise them at work along with Jim’s next batch of chicks and bring them home to reside in the goat pen once they are big enough to stay out there in that pen. 🙂

My surgery has changed some of my food tastes, and where just 1 month ago, you couldn’t hardly get me to eat an egg, I really do like them now.  Strange, huh?   So I’ve been eating lots of eggs since they are a very good source of protein and are just about the right size for a meal or snack for me these days.

 

 

And here are the Silver Laced – Hope I can get some of these chicks this summer.  🙂

2 Comments

  1. I have been scared to try eggs just yet because people seemed to have mixed experiences with them. how are you preparing yours? P.S. Thanks for checking on me the other day! I got busy with work and took a small “blogcation” but I’m back 🙂

    • So far, I can eat them scrambled really well, especially with cheese or grits. (kinda cuts the eggy taste). I also like them boiled and grated up with some really good dill relish and a bit of low fat mayo and I sprinkle in a little dill weed for an egg salad of sorts.
      I have a LOT of trouble with potatoes right now no matter how they are prepared and was thinking about adding a tiny bit of mustard to my egg salad and trying to sort of duplicate the taste of ‘tater salad’. 🙂 Glad to hear you’re doing well!

Leave a Reply

