The Farrier came this evening

and the big boys got shoes.  John the Mule tried to escape when I went into the house while we were waiting.  He *thought* that I was going to load them up and go somewhere.  Silly old man.  Wormy asked if I wanted to sell John because he’s got a fellow up in the Carolinas wanting a good mule.  Of course I told him no, then I told him that if John WERE for sale, the guy couldn’t afford him.

Buck has some goopy stuff coming out of his left eye, I’ve got to hunt up some ointment for that.  I’ll probably teach Casey how to treat him and let her handle it since she’s still feeding every day.  I’ve got to hand it to her, she has been faithful about taking care of him!  I think it’s good for her to have something to be responsible for.

The goat herd is doing good, we now have 7 babies, 4 boys and 3 girls.  I’ve already picked out one of the girls to keep.  LOL  I sold 3 of the 4 meat goats left to a hispanic lady for the Christmas holiday.  She’ll pick them up on the 22nd or 23rd.  That will put me down to just one buck left that I’m selling from the last round of babies.    We’ve come full circle, lol.    I’m expecting 4 or 5 other nannies to kid within the next month or so, fun in the cold.

Saw something really strange flying over when I was out filling water troughs a little bit ago…

It flew right over my house – VERY noisy.  By the time I quit gaping and got out the phone, it was almost out of shooting range.  I *think* it was a plane refueling another, but I’m not sure.   I’ll have to show it to Jim and see what he says.

 

1 Comment

  1. Grainy pic, but my call is a B-1B being refueled by a KC-135R.

Leave a Reply

