Crockpot Freezer meals – Why didn’t I think of that??

Looks like the latest craze on Pinterest is doing this type of cooking.   After thinking about it, I decided I want to try it, after all my family eats WAY too much fast food.  With my lap band being so tight, I hardly ever eat more than a couple of ounces at a time, and to be quite honest, it gripes my butt to have to cook when I can’t eat!!  LOL    Plus we have the fact that Kyle is living with my Mother In Law now, so I am only cooking for Chris.  I would be happy to live off of tuna salad, atkins shakes and eggs!  LOL

I have found lots of recipes we want to try, plus I made up some of my old ‘stand by’ meals.   Today I have made ( all in gallon freezer bags )

4 Taco Chicken soup http://www.skinnytaste.com/2008/11/crock-pot-chicken-taco-chili-4-pts.html

2 scalloped ham and potatoes   ( diced ham, cubed potatoes, cubed onion, cubed velveeta, a little garlic, milk )

2 keilbasa sausage with peppers, onions, garlic, cabbage and potatoes

1 keilbasa with sour kraut and onions

4 teriyaki chicken   ( cubed chicken, pineapple pieces, baby carrots, red onion, teriyaki sauce, soy sauce, brown sugar and garlic )

4 ranch pork chops    http://www.livinglaughingandloving.com/2012/01/crockpot-ranch-pork-chops-finger-licking-good.html

I added some chopped potatoes, onions and baby carrots to the ranch pork chops for a complete meal.

These are all done and in the freezer and took me 2 hours to put together.  17 meals in 2 hours!!!   All I will need to do with each meal is put in the crock pot in the morning for however long it needs to go (got a fancy crock pot with a timer and a hold warm option), come home from work or where ever, make a salad or pasta or whatever else needs to go with the meal.  Some of them will be a complete meal because I don’t eat bread any more and have been encouraging Chris to eat less bread.  There should be enough of each meal that we can take left overs to work for lunch the next day and probably enough to feed Kyle too when he pops by (rarely).

I also have more chicken, pork loin, ground beef and weiners in the fridge that I’ll do something with one night this week.   I have found a recipe for crockpot lasagna that I think I’ll try also.

I’m planning to really start watching for the meat sales ( other than ground beef, WalMart did not have ANY beef for under $4.50 a pound!!!!  AAAAHHHH)  I really wanted to put some beef stew in the freezer, but guess that will have to wait because I REFUSE to pay that much for beef.

I am also going to experiment with some recipes for making my own laundry detergent and dishwasher detergent.

Leave a Reply

